Australia drop the ball against Pakistan

It was left to Wade and Glenn Maxwell (60) to rescue the innings with a crucial sixth-wicket partnership of 82, scoring at almost a run a ball. With all batsmen finding it hard to score quickly, Smith brought up a hard-fought 50 from 91 balls with only two boundaries and no sixes.

Game one centurion Matthew Wade (35 from 56) crafted the biggest partnership of the innings with Smith - 65 runs - but the skipper fell to Imad Wasim in the 43rd over and Wade followed just seven balls later at the hands of Shaoib Malik, leaving Australia at 7/199.

The five-match ODI series between Australia and Pakistan is tied at 1-1.

Australia set a modest target of 221 after being bowled out in the 49th over. Mohammad Amir got rid of Hazlewood and Faulkner to finish with 3/47, while Junaid Khan complemented his 2/40 with the run out of Starc. Hasan and Shoaib Malik, meanwhile, chipped in with one wicket each.

Hafeez and Babar Azam kept the runs flowing with a 72-run stand, during which Hafeez surpassed his half-century, before Azam was dismissed by Mitchell Starc for 34.

In its reply, Pakistan got into trouble straightaway when it lost Sharjeel Khan for 18 off 22 balls, Faulkner getting his first wicket.

It would prove a costly drop as Hafeez went on to anchor the innings with a well played 72 off 104 balls. He remained unbeaten on 42 after adding a crucial 53 for the fourth wicket with Asad Shafiq (13). After poor show with the bat, the hosts disappoint in bowling too.

The match will start at 08:20 am Pakistan time, which corresponds to 01:20 pm Australian time, 03:20 GMT and 08:00 am according to Indian time.

"It's been pretty ordinary, our batting, aside from Matthew Wade in Brisbane", he said. "He could be a very key player for us in India and he hasn't been able to bowl the speeds he would like". Was always going to be tough, tried as hard as we can. "Outplayed by Pakistan. Chris Lynn's quite sore, someone may come into the squad for him". We love them, and they love us a lot (the crowd).

Australia skipper Steve Smith won the toss and opted to bat first. "Missed an opportunity in the last game".

  • Angelo Rivera