IPL: Kohli's 58 lifts Bangalore to 161/6 against Delhi

Delhi Daredevils were unchanged in this inconsequential match; both teams had already crashed out of the tournament much before this game. The Daredevils finished sixth with a string of late losses dispelling any post-season hopes.

3 Number of matches won by Royal Challengers Bangalore in the IPL2017 - two of these three wins have come against Delhi Daredevils!

3016 Virat Kohli's run-aggregate as captain in the IPL. The King of Kingston was at his brutal best, whipping Zaheer Khan through the leg-side twice in the first over, then dispatching Mohammad Shami four two sixes in the second, he raced along with another boundary adding to the tally, before finding Zaheer Khan at mid-wicket to halt a blistering assault of 48 from just 38 balls. Shami dispatched the last two balls for boundaries to bring the equation down to 35 off 18 balls.

Earlier, Zaheer Khan, probably turning out in the IPL for the last time, bowled miserly during the powerplay overs and got good support from his fellow seamers. RCB's match winners failed to perform well in these 1 or 2 innings. He was the only Bangalore batsman to pass one-fifty for the season and his dominance over the Daredevils continued, compiling his fourth half-century in the last six matches against the franchise.

Prior to the start of the season, no one could have imagined that RCB would be the first team to be eliminated from the contest. RCB will try to pull up a surprise now by winning the match on this Sunday against DD.

They need to play their natural now which can help them to win in front of DD and it can save their reputation.

Kohli disclosed that RCB would only field 3 overseas players due to injuries and unavailability ruling out most of the squad's foreigners.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB): Chris Gayle, Mandeep Singh, Virat Kohli (Captain), Kedar Jadhav, A Choudhary, Travis Head, Yuzvendra Chahal, Samuel Badree, Sreenath Aravind, AB de Villiers and Pawan Negi.

Avesh Khan removed Sanju Samson in the first over of Delhi's reply, but Karun Nair (26) and Shreyas Iyer (32) made contributions for the home side to put them on course to chase down their target.

  • Angelo Rivera