Kohli sweeps International Cricket Council awards

Smith beat off competition for the from last year's victor Ashwin, who took 111 wickets at 25.87, Cheteshwar Pujara, who scored 1,914 runs, Kohli, and Ben Stokes, who hit 1,000 runs at 40.00 and took 35 wickets at 27.68.

In phenomenal form across formats, Indian captain Virat Kohli was on Thursday named the world cricketer of the year, besides bagging the top honour for ODI players in the ICC annual awards, announced in Dubai.

"It's called Test cricket for a reason, and I've enjoyed that test of my ability over the past 12 months", Smith said.

Kohli had a prolific 2017 in which he scored 1059 runs from 10 Tests at a staggering average of 75.64, besides amassing 1460 runs from 26 ODIs with an astonishing average of 76.84.

Virat Kohli's fans are celebrating in joy for Virat Kohli has been named as the ICC Cricketer Of The Year, 2017.

It is fitting that Kohli is awarded a trophy named in honour of the great West Indian all-rounder Sir Garfield Sobers.

This is the first time Kohli has been selected in the ICC Test Team of the Year, but fourth time after 2012, 2014 and 2016 that he has been picked in the ICC ODI Team of the Year.

Pakistani fast bowler was Hasan Ali was named Emerging Cricketer of the Year in the ICC Awards 2017, Samaa reported.

In the Bangalore test match, Yuzvendra Chahal's 6 for 25 against England received massive limelight in the last year has been identified and recognized by ICC as the T20I Performance of the Year.

Australian captain Steve Smith claimed the Test Player of the Year honour. Pakistan have two players in the squad, Babar Azam and Hasan. I think I worked even harder in 2017 and understand this has been a good phase for me, but I will have to work even harder in future to play the same level of cricket I have been able to play in the past two years.

Kohli racked up some serious numbers crossways formats in the qualifying period - which began from the September 2016 and continues till September 2017.

The journey ICC awards started in the year 2004.

He was also Player of the Series for his 13 wickets that helped Pakistan to Champions Trophy glory against India.

For de Villiers, this is the seventh time in eight years that he has been chosen in the ICC ODI Team of the Year. They are Kohli, Rohit Sharma, AB de Villiers, David Warner, de Kock and Mitchell Starc.

According to ICC, his superlative performances have caught the attention of T20 teams around the world and he has made a splash at the Indian Premier League and Big Bash League in Australia.

  • Angelo Rivera