Narine stars as KKR edge past RCB

Despite losing their first game of IPL 2018, Kohli was keen to look for the positives, adding: 'We made a pretty good game out of it which was a positive. Along with Lynn, Karthik will have expectations from vice-captain Robin Uthappa as he has been consistent for the team. On the other hand, de Villiers hit Yadav for two back-to-back sixes.

The Knight Riders are making a fresh start under the leadership of Dinesh Karthik after severing ties with the long serving Gautam Gambhir. Filling the remaining overseas player slots are South African superstars Quinton de Kock and AB de Villiers along with English all-rounder Chris Woakes and Moeen Ali. He opted for Vinay Kumar, who was taken for 14 in the opening over of the innings, and gave away 16 in the first three balls of the last. KKR chased down the target of 177 in 18.5 overs to open their winning account in the IPL 2018 points table.

Following the fall of de Cock's wicket, RCB skipper Virat Kohli walked out in the midst of a jam-packed stadium.

Bringing on a part-time spinner with de Villiers and Kohli at the crease was risky indeed, but their prediction for a 30-run over turned into a masterstroke when he had both batsmen dismissed off the next two balls. It needed a big decision from Kolkata Knight Riders' skipper Dinesh Karthik and he handed the ball to Nitish Rana. Rana, however, impressed in single over, claiming two crucial wickets of McCullum and Kohli. But just when the visitors were looking steady with McCullum looking in fine touch and Kohli at ease playing second fiddle, Narine (1/30) got rid of the unsafe Kiwi with a shortish offbreak that dislodged the stumps.

Virat Kohli is as no-brainer as no-brainers get. The four overseas are Lynn, Narine, Russell and Johnson.

After McCullum's dismissal, AB de Villiers took the centerstage and played some breathtaking shots. He was then on 23.

In just 27 balls, the pair brought up the 50-run partnership before Rana got the back of the duo in successive balls. Interestingly, they included Rinku Singh in the team who had rocked the domestic season with the bat this year and also picked Mitchell Johnson purely on the basis of pace. The bowling attack still does not inspire much confidence though, with massive responsibility on the shoulders of Chris Woakes and Yuzvendra Chahal.

  • Angelo Rivera